I’ll take the communion with a side of guilt please.

4 01 2010

So, as with all great superhero stories and amazing trilogy of stories, there has to be a beginning.  An origin story.

We learn the Peter Parker is bitten by a spider and becomes Spiderman.  Bruce Wayne becomes Batman for revenge of his parent’s death.  Mine is also a similar story as well.

Well before becoming a man of God and a follower of his work, I was a CATHOLIC!

Yes.  A Catholic.

OK.  Now that the eerie organ music has subsided, let’s get to my origin story.

See, I was raised in the great state of Massachusetts.  A majority of the people there are either of Italian or Irish or Portuguese heritage.  All three of those are in fact predominately Catholic.  With my mother, it was a decision that was made that both myself and my sister were going to be raised in the Catholic church.

Now, I don’t blame my mother for setting the precedent of making us Catholics.  The fact is that she comes from a long line of catholics and so it was only a responsible way a mother could expose her kids to God and such.

I do remember our small church.  Father Magnani who had a beach house on the Cape.  Summer times were quick masses called forever by the congregation as Cape Cod masses because he wanted to get in and out as fast as he could.  Father ” Wild ” Bill was much younger and rode a motorcycle.  He was cool to the young kids and the young adults as well.

However, being Catholic was tough.  See, I was not exactly the kind of kid that would sit there and listen to the constant talking, standing and kneeling and sitting.  Being Catholic was like washing your hair.  Lather, Rinse and repeat.  Stand, Kneel, sit and repeat.

The biggest problem was two major things.  These things I will get more in depth in later posts.  See, it was the massive guilt that they made you feel and the fact that they never made you feel like you had a relationship with not only God but with Jesus as well.

So for those unfamiliar with being Catholic, I will try to clear up my issues and problems with the Catholic Church and how this sect of Christianity does not fit into my growth as a person in Christ.

So, there you have it.  I was brought into this world as a Catholic.  The years of therapy to undo what has taken them decades to instill into me could take on a whole blog all by itself.  Fortunately, I won’t do that……for now!

Next post will be more on my views with the Catholics.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

